Tir na NOg ~ The land of forever young

We were driving up the private road to our home.

I was thinking about you.

I think about you everyday and have for the last almost 12 years, but I am thinking of you more at this time.

As I turned the bend, I saw our house and saw the sun setting behind it.

The hue of burnt orange flaming across the sky caught me by surprise and for some reason, I knew there was something special about to happen. I felt such joy in my heart as I drove the last few metres.

I got out of the ute and felt drawn to this sunset. I have seen so many here, all of them beautiful, but this one was somehow something different.

I stood and smiled and admired the piece of orange sky. I marvelled at the dark green hills it hugged and wanted this moment to be etched in my mind.

I heard you. I heard you whisper to me.

“Mum, I’m here.”

My breath caught in my throat and I felt the surge of love and peace that you bring.

I silently said “Hello son.” And heard the warmth of your smile in reply.

It was then I saw that through the burnt orange sun setting on the dark green hills, was white clouds slowly drifting.

The green, white and gold.

The flag of Eire.

My boy is home. He’s come to see his Mum.

And I remembered you.

The shrill scream from your sister broke the moment and I returned to reality.

I love you.

1 Comment »

  1. river said

    So sweet Nikki. I love that your boy sends reminders like this flag so that you know he’s there.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Talk to me !!!!

